Sheikh Russel end sixth in BPL

Former champions Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Ltd ended campaign at sixth position in the 12-team point table as they crushed the relegated-outfit Swadhinata Krira Sangha by 4-1 goals in their last match of the 14th Bangladesh Premier League at the Muktijuddho Sriti Stadium in Rajshahi on Tuesday.

Sheikh Russel KC Ltd, who were facing a relegation threat during the first phase of this league, finally concluded the league with a place of honor in the leaderboard. The club climbed up to sixth form eighth with 31 points from 8 wins, 7 draws and 7 defeats.

The former champions were facing a relegation threat during the first phase of this league, but the situation improved considerably when Bashundhara Group Managing Director and the club’s Chairman Sayem Sobhan Anvir took the helm of the team at the right time.

Ghanaian forward Richard Gadze, Ivorian midfielder Kpehi Jean Charles Didier Brossou, Nigerian forward Ismahil Akinade and midfielder Manik Hossain Molla scored one each for Sheikh Russel in the 16th, 21st, 36th and 75th minutes respectively while forward Saif Shamsud scored the consolation goal for Swadhinata KS in the 49th minute.

Mohammedan Sporting Club punished the 10-man Rahamatgonj Muslim Friends Society with 7-0 goals in the last match of the league at Shaheed Dhirendranath Stadium in Comilla on this day.

Malian forward Souleymane Diabate made his second hat-trick in the league scoring four goals in the 33rd, 40th, 67th and 76th minutes while midfielder Ashraful Haque Asif and Nigerian midfielder Ugochukwu Obi Moneke and midfielder Sahed Mia contributed one each in the 17th, 40th and 90+3rd minutes.

Rahamatgonj MFS were reduced to the 10-man while their defender Mohammad Tarek got a marching order conceding his second yellow card in the 51st minute.

Mohammedan SC ended 5th with 33 points from 8 wins, 9 draws and 5 defeats and Rahamatgonj MFS ended 10th with their previous credit of 18 points from 4 wins,6 draws and 12 defeats.

Meanwhile, the ongoing domestic season 2021-2022 officially ended after these two matches.

Earlier, Bashundhara Kings emerged the champions with 57 points and Dhaka Abahani became runners-up with 47 points in this BPL while two lowly teams Swadhinata KS and Uttar Baridhara Club had been relegated from premier league to championship league with their 10 and 14 points respectively.

Source: Daily-Sun

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.