Sheikh Russel held by Muktijoddha SKC 0-0

The former Bangladesh premier League champions Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra Ltd shared points with Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra as their 19th match of the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League ended in goalless draw at Sheikh Fazlul Haque Mani Stadium in Gopalganj on Friday.

Sheikh Russel KC, who clinched a big 5-3 goals win over Uttar Baridhara Club in their last match at Bashundhara Sports Complex before the Eid break last week, wasted several close chances throughout the match.

On the other hand, the hosts Muktijoddha SKC appeared with enough confidence as they previously beat Sheikh Russel by 3-0 goals in their first-leg match in March, but the former champions made no mistake this time and impressively denied all attacks from the home side.  


Despite earning one point from the day’s draw, the former champions remained 8th with 22 points from 5 wins, 7 draws and 7 defeats while Muktijoddha SKC remained 11th with 12 points from 3 wins, 3 draws and 13 defeats.

Mohammedan Sporting Club beat Uttar Baridhara Club by 3-0 goals in the day’s second match at Shaheed Dhirendranath Stadium in Comilla.

Uttar Baridhara’s Ivorian defender Youssouf Mory Bamba netted an suicidal own goal that helped Mohammedan to open account in the added time of the first half (45+3rd minute).

Then, Malian forward Souleymane Diabate and Nigerian midfielder Ugochukwu Obi Moneke extended the margin for the traditional black and white scoring one each twice in the 70th and 90+2nd minutes.

Police Football Club played a goalless draw with Rahamatgonj Muslim Friends Society in the day’s third match at Muktijuddho Sriti Stadium in Rajshahi.

After the matches, Mohammedan earned 29 points 7 wins, 8 draws and 4 defeats, Police FC earned 29 points 8 wins, 5 draws and 6 defeats and Rahamatgonj MFS earned 15 points 3 wins, 6 draws and 10 defeats while Uttar Baridhara had previous credit of 13 points from 3 wins, 4 draws and 12 defeats.

The round 20 will begin on July 18 with a high-voltage match between the current champions Bashundhara Kings and Saif Sporting Club at Bir Flight Lieutenant Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj.

If Kings are able to beat Saif SC in the match, they will confirm their third consecutive BPL title with two matches to spare.

Source: Daily Sun

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.